Remembering Professor Sid H. Davidson, Jr.


“A CONTRACT IS AN AGREEMENT BETWEEN TWO OR MORE LEGALLY COMPETENT PERSONS TO CONDUCT A LEGAL ACT NOW OR IN THE FUTURE ON WHICH THERE IS MUTUAL ASSENT AND BARGAINED-FOR CONSIDERATION”

Every student who took Dr. Sid Davidson’s Business Law class had to memorize this.  He once told us that a former student of his upon recognizing him in a restaurant repeated this sentence in public. He took his class years earlier.

Even as a grown-up — at least I should be one – I was taken by his enthusiasm for teaching. I was amazed by his  ability to motivate students of all ages.

I asked him once: So when will you have your last lecture?

And he answered: WHEN GOD CALLS ME HOME I SUPPOSE????

He called him home on August the 13th after 48 years of teaching. Knowing him I doubt that even one of these years was wasted …

http://www.foothill.edu/news/newsfmt.php?sr=2&rec_id=1634

Note: here is another great blog about the SID – thanks:

http://srtierney.xanga.com/709761468/sid/


2 thoughts on “Remembering Professor Sid H. Davidson, Jr.

  1. It has been over a year and I still can’t believe he is gone. He gave so much of his life to teaching, and only ask that his students strive for more.
    Sid was a professor of mine years ago, and the one man who inspired me to do more with my life, that no matter what we have achieved, there is still more for which we can reach. He is a great man, and by far the most influential person in my life. Outside my family, he is perhaps the one and only person that I truly loved, out of deep respect.
    Even now, when I think of all that he has done for me, and what he continues to do for other people who knew and loved him, I cannot keep the tears from coming. The world has lost a great man. And the only silver lining that I can see is that he inspired, and continues to inspire, so many people to pick up the mantle of mentorship, and carry on his legacy as he has so selflessly done for so many years.

    I don’t believe I can ever be as influential as he is, but I will settle for encouraging. And if I can influence just one person to live out his/her aspirations, then I can look up at the sky and smile, because he made it possible for me to feel this grand sense of accomplishment for a second time.

Leave a Reply

